Chaitra Navratri 2021: The Significance of the Nine Days of Navratri

Chaitra Navratri 2021: The Significance of the Nine Days of Navratri

Posted on 07/10/2021

India is a land of festivals, each year Indian people celebrate a lot of holy festivals and Chaitra Navratri is one of them. For Hindu tradition and religion this festival is very auspicious and is celebrated not only in India but abroad also. The festival duration is of 9 days where the Hindu devotees worship the Goddess Durga. Also Navratri festival has a special importance in the hearts of Hindus. Therefore this festival is celebrated all over the country with great pomp. Every year the Chaitra Navratri occurs in the summers and this year too, it is observed on 7 October 2021. Every year Navratri festival is observed 2 times. People worship the Goddess Durga Marble statue which is very common in the shops. Marble statue manufacturers in Jaipur are very popular in making these statues of goddess Durga.


During these nine holy days, the worshippers of Durga take fast. Also, they perform pooja on each day to celebrate this auspicious festival. Not only women, but men also take part in Navratri by observing fast on these nine days. This festival is also considered the festival of colours. People get dressed in different colours to celebrate this festival. In Gujarat, this festival is celebrated by playing dandia. The festival is very famous in Gujarat. Navratri festival is considered very essential in the Hindu religion due to many reasons. Each day is significant in Navratri. Below are mentioned all the significant information of all the days of Navratri.


Significance of each day in Chaitra Navratri 2021


Navratri Day 1: Orange

Day 1 in the Chaitra Navratri signifies the colour orange and the tithi or date is the Pratipada or Ghalasthapana. On the day first, of Navratri, the worshippers put Kalash in their house which is also known as Ghataspanana or Kalash sthapana. The worshipping of the Shail Putri form of Durga is also observed on this holy day. People also purchase the Goddess Durga marble statue and worship it on this auspicious day. Meanwhile, the orange colour creates a very light and good environment as it is a representative of joy and cheerfulness.


Navratri Day 2: White 

Day 2 is also known as the white day in Navratri. The tithi on the second day of Navratri is Dwitiya. On this auspicious day, the devotees worship the unmarried form of Durga which is called Brahmacharini. It is adored and worshipped with great joy. The white colour is the representative of nature and its nourishing qualities.


Navratri Day 3: Red 

This day signifies the colour red. The tithi observed on this day are Tritya and Chaturthi. On day 3 the devotees worship maa Chandraghanta. Goddess Durga Marble statue is worshipped on the days of Navratri. It is also seen that many devotees worship the kushmanda Durga. The red colour also created a very optimistic environment as it signifies the destruction of evil.


Navratri Day 4: Royal blue 

The colour of the Navratri day 4 is royal blue. The colour interns provide the importance of good health and prosperity. On this day of Navratri, the goddess Kushmanda is worshipped. This day is a significant day of Navratri. Goddess Kushmanda is also called Ashtabhuja Devi as she has eight hands.


Navratri Day 5: Yellow 

The colour of the Navratri day 5 is yellow. This colour signifies the importance of brightness and happiness. Therefore it stands for brightness and happiness. On this day of Navratri, Goddess Skandmata is worshipped with all hearts and turns out to be known as the mother of Skanda or Lord Kartikey.


Navratri Day 6: Green 

This day of Navratri is depicted in green colour. The colour of nature. Further, the green colour shows the significance of new growth and beginnings. Many people especially Hindus worship the Goddess Katyayani on this particular day. Also, she is known as the slayer of tyrannical demon Mahisasura.


Navratri day 7: Grey

 The colour of this Navratri day is grey. Also, this colour stands for and signifies the strength of transforming. Hindus worship Kalaratri Goddess on this specified day of Navratri. This goddess is known for destroying all the demons including evil spirits, ghosts and negative energies. Worshipping this goddess leads to many positive energies. This goddess is also called Shubankri because of the reason that she always provides the best results to her devotees.


Navratri day 8: Purple 

This is the most important day of all the Navratri days for Hindus and others too. This eighth day of Navratri is called the day of Kanjak. On this particular day, the feeding of the small girl who is known as the avatar of the Goddess. Also, the purple colour shows the importance of the power of peace and intellect. On this special day, worshipping of Goddess Mahagauri is done as she has the power of fulfilling all the wishes of her devotees. It is said that people who worship this Goddess Mahagauri remain happy and get relief from any kind of suffering in life.


Navratri Day 9: Peacock green 

Day 9 of this Navratri festival is the last. Also, this day is known as Navami. On this last day of Navratri, Goddess Siddhidatri is worshipped. This day is depicted by peacock green. It is also believed that one side of the body of Lord Shiva is of Goddess Siddhidatri. Therefore, Lord Shiva is also known by the name of Ardhanarishwar. According to the scriptures, Lord Shiva has stained all the siddhis through worshipping the Goddess Durga .